Saturday, October 16, 2010

Llosa and Xiaobo win the Nobel

Mario Vargas Llosa and Liu Xiaobo, 2010 Nobel Prize Winners for Literature and Peace respectively, are both PEN members.

Peruvian Mario Vargas Llosa won the 2010 Nobel Prize for literature as the academy honored one of the Spanish-speaking world's most acclaimed authors and an activist who once ran for Peru's presidency and famously denounced leftist writers and dictators.

We are absolutely delighted that Liu Xiaobo, our Chinese PEN colleague , a literary critic, writer, and political activist who is serving an 11-year sentence in a Chinese prison, is the recipient of the 2010 Nobel Peace Prize.
You can read more at Albert Ashok's PEN West Bengal site.
Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter: A NovelThe Bad Girl: A NovelConversation in the CathedralThe Feast of the Goat: A NovelThe War of the End of the World


  1. @surajit dasgupta.........sir..wat is PEN?
    @subhorup bhai...........the link is not working

  2. See the link on the left sidebar of this blog for a page on Poets, Playwrights, Essayists, Editors and Novelists International.

    Sorry about the link. Will fix.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...